Inaugural Function of the 150th Birth Anniversary Celebrations of Sri Aurobindo

Sri Aurobindo Society hosted the inaugural function of the 150th birth anniversary of Sri Aurobindo.  

Shri Amit Shah, Hon’ble Union Minister of Home Affairs was the chief guest of the event and declared open the inaugural function on April 24, 2022.

Following the inaugural function, the Hon’ble Union Minister of Home Affairs unveiled a coffee table book, “Sri Aurobindo and The Constitution of India” research done by the Sri Aurobindo Society. 

Shri Vijay Poddar, Executive Member, Finance & Admin, Sri Aurobindo Society welcomed the gathering and outlined the activities done by the Society toward a Golden Puducherry.

The welcome speech was followed by the traditional lamp lighting ceremony by the dignitaries.

Shri Pradeep Narang, Chairman of Sri Aurobindo Society spoke the society is following the path laid down by the Mother and Sri Aurobindo in all its activities. 

He spoke in detail about the big research done about the connection between Sri Aurobindo and The Constitution of India and how it turned out to be a book of importance today.

The Hon'ble Home Minister, Shri Amit Shah said that the youngsters of today's India should follow and practice the principles of Sri Aurobindo. He further added that it is the responsibility of the elders to take this message to the youth of today. While mentioning the book, he said " This book " Sri Aurobindo and The Constitution of India "shall help all people across the world to understand the ethos of India and our Constitution." Further, he suggested reading Sri Aurobindo to understand India's soul. , "there will be a series of events conducted nationwide as a mark of respect to the great leader, saint, and yogi, Sri Aurobindo and this is just the beginning.”

Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan, Hon’ble Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry, Shri N. Rangaswamy, Hon’ble Chief Minister of Puducherry, Hon’ble Speaker of Puducherry Shri R. Selvam, Hon'ble Home Minister Shri A. Namassivayam, Shri PML. Kalyanasundaram, MLA, Shri Ashwani Kumar, Chief Secretary Pondicherry, Prof Gurmeet Singh, Shri Manoj Das Gupta, Trustee Sri Aurobindo Ashram were the other dignitaries who graced the occasion.

Dr. Ajit Sabnis, Member Executive, Sri Aurobindo Society delivered the vote of thanks.